The Cheapshots - "The Cheapshots" (Self Released)

From Aural Innovations #41 (October 2010)

The Cheapshots are a new Swedish band from Gothenburg. This 6 track CD-EP is all original material except the GG Allin track, Bite you Scum, which closes the EP. The band play fast paced melodic snotty punky rock and roll with a lot of attitude (and some guitar solos!). One Track Mind reminds me of old school GBH (almost). Never Settle Down continues the same line of thought and is also fast and Dick is screaming his ass off on the vocals (he also plays guitar). The song reminds me of a faster version of a Monster Magnet song but I canít remember which one. Time to Riot has a different sort of rhythm to give this one a different feel but the vocals are equally aggressive and intense. Simple Man (not the Lynryd Skynryd song), has a great guitar riff and a clear message from Dick. I.B.S. (got to go) is another fast paced 2 minute punky rocker with a clear message. The GG Allin song closes this short but intense blast of music. It goes by fast but they have some damn good songs. I enjoyed this one a lot.

For more information you can visit The Cheapshots web site at:

Reviewed by Scott Heller

Click your browser's BACK button to return to the previous page.
Or CLICK HERE to return to the main Aural Innovations page.