Various Artists - "Soundscape Gallery Series One"
(Lektronic Soundscapes, 1996 LS96007)
Various Artists - "Soundscape Gallery Series Two"
(Lektronic Soundscapes, 1997 LS-1011)

From Aural Innovations #4 (October 1998)

Soundscape Gallery is a good title for these collections because that's exactly what they are. Floating electronic tapestries that focus on atmospherics. The artists included on Series One are John Serrie, Todd Fletcher, A Produce, Giles Reaves, Vidna Obmana, Robert Rich, Tony Gerber, and Steve Roach. On Series Two we have Alpha Wave Movement, Jeff Pearce, Michael Stearns, Bon Lozaga, Hans Christian, Michel Huygen, Caul, Meg Bowles, and Matthias Grassow.

While the music on these CD's is very nice there is really very little here that tripped my trigger. I did, however, wonder about the interests and goals of some of the artists. For example, Robert Rich is a key figure in Amoeba which I enjoyed, Tony Gerber is part of Spacecraft which I also liked, and Bon Lozaga is known for his fusion work with Gonzilla and his more Frippoid influenced guitar soundscapes.

For more information you can visit the Lektronic Soundscapes web site.

Reviewed by Jerry Kranitz

Click your browser's BACK button to return to the previous page.