Dipstick - "Don't Rewind: Remixes & Other Rendezvous"
(WEED Records 2001, WEED 7909)

From Aural Innovations #20 (July 2002)

This is a special music project by Greg Reeves with Chuck Prophet and Daevid Allen. It is mostly strange remixes of songs by Barbara Manning, Mushroom, Calexico, Rocket From The Crypt, Brass Monkey, Russ Tolman, The Beanweevils, Chuck Prohpet, Fuck, and Friends Of Dean Martin. There are two Daevid allen compositions ("Lightning" and "Nostradomanus"). I have never heard the originals of any of these songs so it is hard for me to compare but this is a very interesting compilation of material. Some of the material is clearly targeted towards trying to make some sort of dancy type thing out of this but most of it is a bit strange for that. If you buy one compilation CD this year, you will have a hard time finding a stranger one!

For more information you can visit the Dipstick web site at: http://www.dipstickmusic.com.
Don't Rewind is distributed by WEED Records. You can visit their web site at: http://www.WEEDrecords.com.
Contact via snail mail at WEED Records; 3014 Shattuck Ave; Berkeley, CA 94705.

Reviewed by Scott Heller

Click your browser's BACK button to return to the previous page.
Or CLICK HERE to return to the main Aural Innovations page.